87th Avenue Bridge Task Force

This group has completed its task and has been sunset.


On February 2nd, Commissioner Cohen Higgins brought forward an item before the Board of County Commissioners urging the County Mayor and Commission to move forward with the construction of a bridge over the C-100 canal at SW 87th Avenue from SW 164th Street to SW 163rd Terrace. 

The County's resolution also called for the appropriation of $3,100,0000 in funds from unencumbered road impact fees and to identify other funding sources as necessary to implement the project.  The next step is for the Transportation Planning Organization (TPO) to consider the item at its next Board meeting.  Following the County's action, Mayor Cunningham scheduled a Special Council Meeting on February 8th where the majority of residents spoke in opposition of the bridge and where the Village Council took action in furtherance of the community's desires.  

Commissioner Cohen Higgins requested in a letter sent on February 5, 2021 to the municipal Mayors of Palmetto Bay and Cutler Bay four names from each municipality to create an 8-member committee to be known as the Community Connectivity Committee. The committee was to meet virtually and engage in meaningful discussion to provide insight on the opposing viewpoints for the TPO's consideration.

On February 22, 2021, following the first two meetings of the county-created committee, Mayor Cunningham announced that she would be withdrawing her appointees from the committee citing concerns over lack of guidance and support to the members, including any legal direction from the county.  

87th Avenue Bridge Task Force

Mayor Cunningham announced the new 87th Avenue Bridge Task Force created by Village Manager Nick Marano, continuing Palmetto Bay's engagement in the process with support and assistance from the Village.

The Task Force is a group created by Village Manager Nick Marano and has been assigned the task to continue discussions on the bridge project and develop a position report for Palmetto Bay.  This report will be presented to the Transportation Planning Organization during their March meeting for consideration by its Board which may approve or reject the project.

Task Force Membership

The members of the task force are the same as the original appointees by Mayor Cunningham to the Community Connectivity Committee.  

  1. Marcelo Zinn
  2. Carmen Baker
  3. Joseph Miorelli
  4. Alan Farquharson

Related Transportation and Traffic Studies

Village of Palmetto Bay Reports