Election 2018

General Information - Election of November 6, 2018

Any citizen who is a qualified elector of Miami-Dade County and has resided continuously in the Village of Palmetto Bay for at least two years preceding the date of qualifying is eligible to be a candidate for the office of the Village Council. The Village is divided into three residential areas. Section 2.03 of the City Charter requires that one Council member reside in the Northern Area (Seat 1), one Council member reside in the Central Area (Seat 2) and one Council member reside in the Southern Area (Seat 3). Candidates for the office of Mayor and Vice Mayor are elected without regard to residence in a particular Residential Area. Persons running from a particular Residential Area must be a resident of the Residential Area which she/he proposes to represent on the Council at the time of qualifying, at the time of his/her election and must continue to reside in such Residential Area during his/her term of office. A copy of the Charter is provided for your information and review. In the 2018 election, candidates may qualify for Mayor, District 1 and District 3.

A General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 6, 2018. Any candidate receiving a number of votes greater than 50% of the total number of ballots cast shall be duly elected to the Council and no run-off shall be required.

For your reference, please take notice of the following dates:

  • The vote-by-mail ballot overseas mailing date is 09/21/2018 and the domestic is 10/09/2018 for all voters countywide.

  • Early Voting commences 10/22/2018 and concludes 11/4/2018.

The Village Clerk’s office will continue to keep you abreast of up to date information.

For additional information, please contact the Miami-Dade County Elections Department at: (305) 499-8405.  

Run-Off Election

If required, a Run-off Election will be held on November 27, 2018. The ballot for the run-off election shall contain the names of the candidates for Mayor, District 1, and District 3 who received the most votes in the general election. The candidates receiving the most votes shall be duly elected to Mayor, Councilmember for District 1, and Councilmember for District 3.

The duly elected Mayor and Councilmember shall each serve a four-year term commencing at the next regular scheduled Council meeting after the general election or should a run-off be necessary, at the next regularly scheduled Council meeting following the day of the run-off election.