Advisory Boards, Committees, & Task Forces


The Village of Palmetto Bay has several resident boards, advisory committees and task forces that meet regularly at Village Hall. All meetings shall be held in the Council Chambers located at: 9705 East Hibiscus Street, Palmetto Bay, FL 33157 unless said meetings shall be required to be held virtually due to the severe effects from COVID-19 under the Governors State of Florida issued Executive Order No. 20-69. 

Notice is given that Village of Palmetto Bay Councilmembers may be present during the meetings that may occur of resident boards, advisory committees, and task forces and speak on matters that may be considered at these or future meetings. 

All meetings and business conducted by Village Advisory Boards or Committees are administrated by the Village's Code of Ordinances and shall comply with the requirements of Chapter 119 (Public Records) and 286 (Sunshine), Florida Statutes and shall always be open to the public. Meetings shall be conducted in accordance with Robert's Rules of Order. 

Pursuant to the Village of Palmetto Bay's Declaration of COVID-19 Virus State of Emergency Order No. 2020-11, all Village Advisory Boards, Committees, Task Forces, Charter Officers, and staff shall continue to meet virtually. All virtual meetings shall comply with the Florida Constitution, Florida's Government in the Sunshine Law, and Chapter 286, Florida Statutes

MEMBERS WANTED FOR THE DESIGN REVIEW COMMITTEE (“DRC”)

Pursuant to Ordinance 2021-10, the Village of Palmetto Bay is seeking members to be appointed by the Village Council to the Design Review Committee (“DRC”).

PurposeThe purpose of the DRC is to create a set of standards through a guideline manual for a more effective implementation of the Village's architectural character. The Committee is to report its’ final recommendations to the Council by November 1, 2021. The manual will simplify the understanding of the key aspects of building design and highlight the important features of the surrounding community to enhance appreciation of the natural and developed environment by following a Florida vernacular concept.  

  • To create an architectural guideline manual regarding the design content of the buildings and facades of newly constructed buildings or buildings or facades in which fifty percent (50%) or more is being replaced (excluding single-family residences) within the Village.
  • To set standards and examples for judging the compatibility of newly constructed buildings or existing buildings or facades in which fifty percent (50%) or more is being replaced (excluding single-family residences) within the Village.
  • To simplify the understanding of the key aspects of building siting and design.

Composition: The Committee shall consist of five (5) Village residents, with one resident appointed by each member of the Council, one of whom is designated by the Mayor to serve as Chair of the Committee. Each member:

  1. Cannot be currently employed by the Village;
  2. Cannot be current members of any committee, board, or task force in the Village;
  3. Must be a licensed architect, urban planner, landscape architect, architectural historian, professional artist, faculty member of an architectural school, realtor, or builder, with no more than one profession represented on the Committee at the same time.

Meetings: The Committee shall meet on the call of the Committee Chair, but in any event shall meet at least twice in the months of September and October 2021 or until reporting to the Council. Recruitment for the Committee shall occur through September 13, 2021, with the selection of committee members by the Village Council at the Regular Council Meeting of September 13, 2021. The Committee shall host its first meeting on September 22, 2021.

Residents interested in applying to serve on the DRC Committee must provide a resume, a list of qualifications including the submittal of an Advisory Board/Committee Application to the Office of the Village Clerk at: clerk@palmettobay-fl.gov. The application can be obtained from the Village Clerk. For additional information and/or inquiries, please contact Missy Arocha, Village Clerk at (305) 259-1234, or via email to: clerk@palmettobay-fl.gov.  

2021 PUBLIC MEETINGS CALENDAR: ADVISORY BOARDS, COMMITTEES, & TASK FORCES

AGE-FRIENDLY TASK FORCE - The Age-Friendly Task Force shall hold meetings at 7:00 p.m. on the following dates: 
Dates are to be determined until further notice. 


ART IN PUBLIC PLACES BOARD - The Art in Public Places Board shall hold meetings at 6:00 p.m. on the following dates: 
Thursday, February 11
Thursday, April 8
Thursday, June 10
Thursday, September 9
Thursday, November 18


ECONOMIC TASK FORCE - The Economic Task Force shall hold meetings at 6:30 p.m. on the following dates: 
Dates are to be determined until further notice. 


EDUCATION ADVISORY BOARD  - The Education Advisory Board shall hold meetings at 7:00 p.m. on the following dates:
Tuesday, February 23
Tuesday, March 23
Tuesday, April 27
Tuesday, May 25
Tuesday, June 29 Cancelled
Tuesday, July 27  Cancelled 
Tuesday, September 28
Tuesday, October 26
Tuesday, November 30
Tuesday, December 28


NEIGHBORHOOD PROTECTION COMMITTEE - The Neighborhood Protection Committee shall hold meetings at 5:00 p.m. on the following dates: 
Wednesday, February 10
Wednesday, April 7
Wednesday, June 9
Wednesday, September 8
Wednesday, December 8


PARKS & REC./COMMUNITY OUTREACH COMMITTEE - The PRCOC shall hold meetings at 7:00 p.m. on the following dates: 
Thursday, February 4
Thursday, March 4
Thursday, April 1
Thursday, May 6
Thursday, June 3
Thursday, July 1 Cancelled 
Thursday, September 2
Thursday, October 7
Thursday, November 4
Thursday, December 2


TREE ADVISORY BOARDThe Tree Advisory Board shall hold meetings at 5:00 p.m. on the following dates: 
Monday, March 29
Monday, May 24
Monday, July 26 Cancelled 
Monday, September 27
Monday, October 25
Monday, November 29
Monday, December 13 


VETERANS' PARK TASK FORCEThe Veterans' Park Task Force shall hold meetings at 5:00 p.m. on the following dates: 
Thursday, February 18
Thursday, April 15
Thursday, June 17
Thursday, September 16 Cancelled
Wednesday, November 17


YOUTH COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT TASK FORCE - The YCIBTF shall hold meetings at 5:00 p.m. on the following dates: 
Wednesday, February 24
Wednesday, April 28 Wednesday, May 12
Wednesday, June 30 Cancelled
Wednesday, September 29
Wednesday, November 24

All Advisory Board, Committee, or Task Force meetings may be cancelled due to a lack of quorum or upon a majority vote of the members at a preceding meeting. 

In the event that a Special Council Meeting is called by the Village Council which conflicts with a meeting date/time established herein, the meeting of the board, committee, or task force shall be cancelled and rescheduled for another date and time, which shall be voted upon by a majority of the members and shall not be in conflict with other scheduled meetings of the Village. 

For additional information, please contact the Village Clerk at: clerk@palmettobay-fl.gov or (305) 259-1234.